GTHA announces Spirit Awards winners

GTHA Spirit Awards winners.

GTHA Spirit Awards winners.

TORONTO — Five hundred members of the Greater Toronto Hotel Association (GTHA) gathered on April 22 to honour exceptional Ambassadors in the region’s hotel industry. The fifth annual Spirit Awards Luncheon presented by the Greater Toronto Hotel Association recognized 212 nominees and 18 award winners for their outstanding contributions in our industry. 

“It is with great pride that the GTHA celebrates the service, professionalism and innovation of these outstanding Ambassadors in the hotel community,” said GTHA president and CEO Terry Mundell in a release. “Their contributions to the visitor experience leave a lasting impression on the over 14 million overnight visitors to the Greater Toronto Area. Our congratulations go out to each nominee and award winner for their exceptional service to guests visiting GTHA member hotels.”

The winners of the Greater Toronto Hotel Association’s 5th Annual Spirit Awards are:

Lifetime Achievement Award — Scott Dyson, Chelsea Hotel Toronto; 

Accounting Ambassador of the Year — Portia Hammer, InterContinental Toronto Centre;

Administration Ambassador of the Year — Sheila Eros, Hilton Toronto; 

Banquet Ambassador of the Year — Warren Webster, Hilton Mississauga Meadowvale; 

Bell Person Ambassador of the Year — Michael Calnan, The Fairmont Royal York; 

Concierge of the Year — Anna Godzina, Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre; 

Culinary Ambassador of the Year —Udeni Randenyia, The Strathcona Hotel; 

Engineering Ambassador of the Year — Tony Phan, Delta Toronto; 

Food and Beverage Outlets Ambassador of the Year — Yohannes Habte, Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre; 

Guest Services Ambassador of the Year — Beatrice Agyeman, Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Airport; 

Housekeeping Room Attendant Ambassador of the Year — Florinda Espino, Hotel Le Germain Toronto; 

Housekeeping Support Services Ambassador of the Year — Sivabalan Balasundaram, Sheraton Centre Toronto; 

Laundry Ambassador of the Year — Xiomara Garcia, Quality Inn Airport West; 

Reservations Ambassador of the Year — Ann Rodriguez, Cambridge Suites Toronto; 

Security Ambassador of the Year — Nathaniel Mayers, The Fairmont Royal York; 

Steward of the Year — Rodelio Arcega, Westin Harbour Castle; 

Switchboard Operator of the Year — Myrtle Tillekeratne, Hyatt Regency Toronto; 

Valet Driver/Door Person/ Shuttle Driver Ambassador of the Year — Chris Mathias, The Omni King Edward Hotel.