HAC Hall of Fame entries due Oct. 28

OTTAWA—The Hotel Association of Canada (HAC) is now accepting entries for the  2013 Hall of Fame Awards of Excellence.

OTTAWA—The Hotel Association of Canada (HAC) is now accepting entries for the  2013 Hall of Fame Awards of Excellence. In its tenth year, the Hall of Fame Awards program continues the association’s tradition of acknowledging the strong standards and values of those involved in and with the lodging industry.

 The awards program proudly recognizes those individuals, companies or properties that have demonstrated significant accomplishments, exemplary leadership and tireless commitment to our industry in the following divisions:

The Humanitarian Award  

Given for individuals/programs that demonstrate to residents that the individual property is responsive to the local community. 

The Human Resources Award  

Given for programs/individuals that develop a climate conducive to new and/or repeat business, create goodwill among guests, provide special services, reverse negative public relations situations or effectively solve guest complaints.

The Energy & Environment Award

Recognizes lodging properties that have developed a culture towards integrating environmental management practices that improve everyday operations and the bottom line, while maintaining quality service and meeting guest expectations.

The Stephen Phillips Bursary

The Stephen Phillips Passion for Hospitality Bursary is dedicated to the memory of Stephen Phillips, former vice-chairman & CEO of AFM Hospitality Corporation Inc., who passed away from cancer in early 2007. The bursary will be awarded to the hospitality student who best represents the qualities that Stephen Phillips brought to the industry.