Sustainable tourism rocks at TIAPEI conference

CHARLOTTETOWN — Sustainable Tourism presenters included Parks Canada, the Department of Tourism, the Charlottetown Airport Authority, the Atlantic Canada Agreement on Tourism and many more. 

Pat and Meghann Deigan accepting the Premier's Award for Tourism from Premier Wade MacLauchlan.

Pat and Meghann Deigan accepting the Premier's Award for Tourism from Premier Wade MacLauchlan.

By Kelly Corazza, TIAPEI

— The Tourism Industry Association of Prince Edward Island hosted its Annual
Tourism Conference at the Rodd Charlottetown on October 25, 2018. The theme of
this year’s conference was Sustainable Tourism. There were several
presentations throughout the day including Parks Canada, a 2018 season update
from the Department of Tourism, committee reports from the Charlottetown
Airport Authority, PEI Arts and Heritage, the Atlantic Canada Agreement on
Tourism and much more.

morning started at 8:00am with the Tourism Industry Association of Canada’s
Tourism Town Hall series. Representatives from TIAC, Indigenous Tourism
Association of Canada, Destination Canada and TIAPEI addressed a full audience
of small to medium business owners, on the efforts that are being made on a
national level in tourism. The key issues discussed were labour shortages,
additional marketing funding support and international access hurdles.

Enright, owner of Charlotte’s Rose Inn, in Charlottetown, delivered an
insightful and informative presentation on her property and her dedication to
sustainable operations. Dee noted that making the simplest changes; providing
water bottles to guests, investing in refillable amenity containers and buying
local products will leave less of a carbon footprint from visitors on our

keynote speaker was Jill Doucette, founder of Synergy Enterprises. Her
presentation on Sustainability: Your Business and the Changing Environment
highlighted that there were 1.32 billion travelers to Canada in 2017 and that
tourism is responsible for 8 per cent of global emissions. She encouraged the
audience to educate themselves and their staff in order to share with guests,
ways that emissions can be eliminated. This can be done with the 17 Sustainable
Development Goals that Jill shared and ways to convert waste into a resource
(food, plastics, etc.)

Welcome remarks from Robert Jourdain, president.

Welcome remarks from Robert Jourdain, president.

Business Meeting kicked off the afternoon portion of the day with opening
remarks from TIAPEI President, Robert Jourdain. In his president’s report, he
discussed his involvement in the tourism industry as a previous accommodations
operator and how he came to be president on the TIAPEI Board of Directors. He
also gave an update on the progress of Vision 2021 and how the very engaged
industry has a common goal — to move the tourism industry forward and make it
the best.  Other reports presented during the business meeting were the
financial report and CEO report.

TIAPEI Nominating committee provided a list of officers for the upcoming term.
Kirk Nicholson will replace Robert Jourdain, as TIAPEI president. Terry
Nabuurs, of Georgetown, will be the new King’s County representative. Amy
MacPherson, Fisherman’s Wharf Lobster Suppers, Member at Large.

Dennis and Corryn Clements are re-offering for another 3-year term as Members
at Large.

is the second-largest industry on Prince Edward Island. The industry provides
7,700 full time jobs for Islanders. It also accounts for $447 million in
economic activity each year and 6.3 per cent of GDP, the highest percentage of
any province in Canada.

TIAPEI award winners

Peter Llewellyn of Shoreline Design received his award from Alaina Lockhart.

Peter Llewellyn of Shoreline Design received his award from Alaina Lockhart.

acknowledged individuals and Island businesses in the tourism industry for
their contribution and dedication in the highest degree of professionalism
and/or support in the tourism sector on P.E.I. at the Annual Excellence Awards
Gala, held Oct. 24 at the Rodd Charlottetown.

Jay Scotland
served as emcee for the evening where a total of 10 awards were handed out.

for their contributions to tourism for 2018 were:

  Carl Nicholson, New Glasgow
Lobster Suppers- Lieutenant Governor’s Tourism Award

  Faye Brown, Anne’s Windy Poplars
Cottage Resort- Tourism Ambassador Award

  Mitch Cobb, UpStreet Craft
Brewing- Emerging Entrepreneur Award

  Derrick Hoare, The Table
Culinary Studio- Canada’s Food Island Leadership Award

  Peter Llewellyn, Shoreline
Design- Operator of the Year Award

  Chef Ilona Daniel, Tourism and
Culinary, Holland College Tourism Trailblazer Award

  Tim Arnold, Rodd Brudenell
Resort- Dr. Kent Ellis Quality of Excellence Award

  Pat and Meghann Deighan,
Trailside Café- Premier’s Award for Tourism

  Perry Gotell, Tranquility Cove
Adventures- Parks Canada Sustainable Tourism Award

  Les Parsons, Former CEO Port
Charlottetown- President’s Award