October 2013 – THE WINNERS’ CIRCLE

MONTREAL—enRoute magazine has published its second annual Hotel Design Awards in the September issue of the Air Canada p

enRoute publishes its hotel design awards

MONTREAL—enRoute magazine has published its second annual Hotel Design Awards in the September issue of the Air Canada publication.
The contest was open to Canadian-designed properties all over the world. Judges included restaurant and hotel designer Adam D. Tiffany, Canadian novelist and artist Douglas Coupland, French industrial designer Matali Crasset and Maxwell Ryan of Apartment Therapy.
Although the scope was international, the winning hotels were all located in Canada.
The Four Seasons Hotel Toronto, designed by Glenn Pushelberg and George Yabu of Yabu Pushelberg, won for Best Overall Interior Design.
The award for Best Overall Architecture went to Cabot Links Lodge, Inverness, NS, designed by Susan Fitzgerald of Fowler Bauld & Mitchell.
The James Hotel, Saskatoon, had the Best Lobby in the under 150 rooms category thanks to the work of Michael Shugarman of Shugarman Architecture + Design.

Super 8 winners include Camrose and Peterborough

Ken Kirkby, general manager Super 8 Peterborough, ON was on hand to accept the award for Best Performer North Region at the recent Wyndham Global Conference in Las Vegas. Shown above with Kirkby (right) is John Valletta, president Super 8.
Super 8 Camrose won as Best Performer West Region. The award was accepted by  Brooke Christianson, VP Hotel operations, CanAlta Hospitality based in Drumheller, AB.
Superstar Awards went to Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie and  Super 8 Port Elgin, ON. The awards were presented to Tom and Jennifer Evans, owners of the Super 8 Port Elgin; and Sault Ste. Marie owner Terry Wurdemann.

Ramada’s Canadian winners at Wyndham Global Conference

Rather than “Property of the Year” and “GM of the Year,” Ramada has an annual award called “Best of 2013,” which distinguishes property teams that provide exceptional customer service, high quality accommodations and consistent brand performance. Winners from Canada include:

  • Ramada St. John’s in St. John’s, NL, accepted by Greg Fleming (GM), Diane Aylward (owner), Amy Tulk and Anne McGuirk (team).
  • Ramada Brooks in Brooks, AB, accepted by Cam and Brook Christiansen (owners).
  • Ramada Wainwright in Wainwright, AB, accepted by Cam and Brook Christiansen (owners)
  • Ramada Lac La Biche in Lac La Biche, AB, accepted by Albert Stratichuk (owner), shown above, second from left. With him are Caryl Porter, VP Operations for Ramada, Mark Young, SVP for Ramada and Keri Putera, VP marketing for Ramada.
  • Ramada Olds in Olds, Alberta, accepted by Cam and Brook Christiansen (owners).

HoJo’s Canadian winners at Wyndham Global Conference

Kevin Liddle, GM of Howard Johnson Niagara Falls, second from left, received the award for HoJo Property of the Year, Canada, from John Valletta, Phil Harvey and Kevin McCabe. For more Canadian Howard Johnson and Knight’s Inn winners go to www.canadianlodgingnews.com.

Travelodge Canadian winners at Wyndham Conference

Geni Baskharion of Travelodge Calgary South, AB, centre, was Travelodge Canada’s Employee of the Year. Presenting her award are L to R:  Adam Cannon, VP operations Travelodge U.S., Steven Robinson—president, Travelodge Canada, Mark Young SVP Travelodge U.S., Kevin McCabe—senior director, brand marketing Travelodge U.S. Lakis Zakos, owner of Travelodge Strathmore, won Property of the Year, Housekeeping Team of the Year and Highest Guest Satisfaction Score. Also presented at the conference were: Wyndham Rewards Leader—Travelodge Drumheller; Highest positive Rev/PAR variance—Travelodge Simcoe; and Sales Team of the Year—Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport.